About SAPF

The South Asian Physics Foundation was established in late 2005, the World Year of Physics, by two physicists who recognized the need and potential for an organization dedicated to fostering international cooperation among South Asian nations in the areas of physics research and education. South Asia has a rich tradition of excellence and leadership in the sciences in general and in physics in particular. Academic and scholarly collaboration and exchange are essential contributors to development and stability in the region.

In 2009, the International Year of Astronomy, we started our student conference program, which has been renamed as the Professor Faheem Hussain Student Conference Program, in honor of the late Pakistani physicist who generously shared his extensive experience and expertise with SAPF to help establish the program and serve on its committee.

In 2015, the International Year of Light, we began our new Light the Way to Collaboration program. This is an open-ended program that provides a small amount of funding for international South Asian projects that advance physics in some way -- whether through research, education, outreach or anything else.

We look forward to a long and productive future supporting many different types of promising collaborative physics efforts in South Asia.

SAPF is a US-based 501c(3) non-profit.
Documents (pdf):

Overview and Objectives
IRS Tax-Exempt Status Confirmation Letter (3MB)

Board of Directors:

President: Dr. Vidhya Ramachandran is a solid state physicist at Apple Inc. whose work relates to novel electronic materials.

Secretary/Treasurer: Dr. Jessica Hirschfelder is an experimental particle physicist who worked at CERN on the L3 experiment at LEP, the precursor to the LHC.